Aromatherapy Shower Melts

Well, the cold & rainy weather has arrived in Oregon, and with it came some kind of virus. Both the guys in my house are sick with a cold, so I get to play nursemaid.

Thankfully, I was prepared! I had everything I needed to make a batch of chicken soup and some  congestion-busting aromatherapy tablets.

These tablets are so quick, easy, cheap, and work so well. They’re nothing more than a baking soda disc with a few drops of essential oil that you place on the floor of your shower, but they work! As the hot water dissolves the tablet the scent of the essential oil is released, adding a boost to the steam for loosening & clearing your airways (with the bonus of helping deodorize your drains, lol). I used this recipe by Patricia Pan on PopSugar, with a little variation (I used Breathe Again Essential Oils Blend by Aviano Botanicals). If you use essential oils for anything, you should do some research to ensure you’re using them in a safe manner. Not all essential oils are safe for use on children or around cats. For instance, this blend contains eucalyptus & rosemary, so it would not be appropriate to use for my children.

Now, you can find many recipes online, including the one I used, that say you can use a normal baking pan & paper cupcake liners. While yes, you can make the tablets that way, I cannot EVER get the paper liner off the discs using that method. Ever. I have used the foil liners with more luck, but even then they stick like mad. I don’t know about you, but I do not want to pick soggy shreds of cupcake liner out of my drain. I also find that allowing the tablets to air dry for 24-48 hours, as opposed to baking them, results in a firmer, much less crumbly disc. I prefer that method, myself. If you do it that way, add the essential oils after the drying time. I baked the melts because the boys are already ill & I finally got a silicone cupcake pan, so now there aren’t any cupcake liners to mess with!

I used this Keliwa 12 Cup Silicone Muffin & Cupcake Baking Pan. It says it’s dishwasher & microwave safe, but I don’t have either of those appliances to put that to the test. It also says it can be used up to 450 degrees, but the recipe above only goes to 350. I was worried about fumes & odors while baking, but I didn’t smell anything from the pan- not even when I pulled it out of the oven & leaned in to sniff the silicone itself. The pan is very flexible, you do need to use a baking sheet under it. It was very easy to remove the tablets (which did not crumble). I think if I were to bake muffins or eggs in it, it would be easy to push them out from the bottom. It certainly beats my little 6 cup metal muffin pan as far as convenience goes, but the cups are a tad more shallow. The entire shower melt recipe fit perfectly in the cups, with no empty cups or leftover mix.

 

I received both the baking sheet & essential oil blend free of charge/discounted in order to facilitate a review. The opinions expressed on my blog are based on my own thoughts, knowledge, and experiences. Please remember that I am not a health professional. Always consult your healthcare provider before making any changes to your diet, health, or other applicable areas.

