Lost Puppies

The neighborhood puppies have wandered away from home & now they need your help!

img_0922

  Lost Puppies by Canadian company Family Pastimes is a board game unlike any I’ve played before. The emphasis is on cooperation, instead of competition. Strategy & teamwork are essential to success.

A very welcome alternative to traditional competitive games, children can easily play without needing Mom to step in to referee any disagreements. It brings a smile to my face hearing the kids work out how to solve the problem before them, and warms my heart knowing they are bonding in a friendly, fun manner.  It has quickly become my daughter’s favorite game & she loves to share it with all her little friends.

The cute that appears to be hand-illustrated. It is 12 x 12″, folding neatly into a smaller than typical box,  making it perfect for carrying along to a friend’s house or while camping. img_0918

Cardboard tokens are easy to punch out & have held up well. The instructions are very detailed as to the purpose of each piece, which made explaining to our youngest painless.

Small details, like the shape of the tags on the puppies’ collars, strengthen my preschooler’s shape, color, & number recognition.img_0921

The basic gameplay is fairly simple & well suited for young children, but variations are provided that increase difficulty. I had to read the directions twice to understand them, but it’s pretty straightforward. My children love the “all colors” variation, which is a little too tricky for the youngest when playing solo, but with the help of her older brother they get along just fine.

The games are safety tested & made using all eco-friendly materials; 100% recycled pasteboard, water based glues, non-toxic paints on wooden pieces, soy-based and latex inks on recycled papers, corrugated containers from recycled papers, and recyclable shrink film. Eco-consciousness is something I highly value in a company, as well as the product.

I am glad to have Lost Puppies to occupy the children while I prepare dinner this upcoming Thanksgiving.

Recommended ages 5-7, but we played with a 4 & 8 year old & they both enjoyed it.

Players 1-8  I love that this is a game the kids can easily play with several of their friends! Great for play dates, holiday gatherings, & sleepovers!

Lost Puppies would be a great gift for a family with young children this holiday season!

 

 

I received this product to facilitate an honest review. All thoughts & opinions expressed are my own.

