Easy as Pie!

 

One of the HUGE issues with agoraphobia is how negatively it impacts your relationships and social life. It can be hard to maintain close bonds when you constantly have to turn down invitations because you just can’t go. People eventually feel like you’re writing them off or avoiding them. They stop bothering to include you because you’re probably going to say no, anyways. It’s tough on both sides.

Back home,  at the onset of the agoraphobia, we often visited friends & family. I miss it a lot. One of the things I miss most is the tradition of Sunday supper. Every Sunday, we had a casual dinner with our neighbors, swapping host duties. One week we hosted them, the next they hosted us, many times additional friends & family were invited.

I’ve hosted a few dinners since moving here; Thanksgiving, birthdays, etc. But our space is tiiiiny. 837 sq ft with no real yard tiny.  It’s really kept me from entertaining as often as I’d like. I’ve decided to heck with that. I want need to see people. If I can’t go to them, maybe they will come to me- especially if food is involved, lol.

Last month I hosted my first Sunday supper, for 20 people. On the menu was sweet tea, pulled pork, a ton of sides, & lemon icebox pie. I made it as easy on myself as possible. Prepped most of it the night before, including setting up the the buffet (actually my washer & dryer covered with a tablecloth!) & tables. All that left was popping the pork in crock pots, finishing up the sides, & adding the final touches to the pie.

Oh that pie. Have you had lemon icebox pie? It’s fabulous! Unbelievably easy & the sweet tartness compliments all kinds of southern food, from hoppin’ john to fried chicken to barbecue. It makes for a very refreshing treat on hot days.

Lemon Icebox Pie

  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 8 oz whipped cream, plus some for topping if desired
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 c lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp lemon zest, optional
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla, optional
  • 1 prepared 9″ graham cracker crust

Beat the cream cheese until fluffy & mix in remaining ingredients.  Pour into crust. Cover & refrigerate 4 hours, until set. Top with whipped cream before serving, if desired. Easy as pie 🙂  Try freezing for a delightful treat- just thaw for about 20 minutes before serving! If tightly wrapped, it will keep about 3 months in the freezer- perfect to have on hand for unexpected company! 

The dinner & desserts were very casual, but I still wanted them to look nice, so instead of plopping the Chantilly cream on, I used my FUNCAKE 30 in 1 Icing Tools  to pipe it on. Now, I haven’t ever really tried to pipe icing, much less whipped cream, but it turned out nice enough. I definitely need to practice my icing skills and I probably should have started out with actual frosting for my first go at it.

IMG_1188

I really like the FunCake decorating kit. It’s comes with so many icing tips!  I especially appreciate the handy divided box that keeps all 24 tips together- no searching for the correct tip amidst a jumbled utensil drawer! And it hardly takes up any space, measuring just 4.5 x 7,” which is a huge plus when you’re space is as small as mine. It also came with two 12″ reusable silicon bags & two easy screw couplers. The bags were easy to clean & even have little loops so you can hang them to dry.  All in all a great little kit. You can check it out here.

I received a FunCake decorating kit at reduced price in order to facilitate a review. As always, the thoughts & opinions expressed are my own.

 

